Home / Series / Campion / Aired Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 Look to the Lady (Part 1)

    • January 22, 1989
    • BBC One

    Campion learns that a mediaeval relic called the Gyrth Chalice, which for hundreds of years has been in the care of the Gyrth family at the village of Sanctuary, is threatened by an international gang of art thieves. For the Gyrths the stakes are high - if they lose the Chalice, their country estate will revert to the Crown. Campion travels to Sanctuary with Val Gyrth, and almost at once Val's aunt Lady Diana is found dead in the middle of a wood, apparently frightened to death... it seems the gang is already on the job.

  • S01E02 Look to the Lady (Part 2)

    • January 29, 1989
    • BBC One

    When the safety of the ancient Gyrth Chalice is threatened, Campion embarks on a dangerous assignment to protect it. He soon discovers that his adversary will stop at nothing - even murder - in order to get the Chalice.

  • S01E03 Police at the Funeral (Part 1)

    • February 5, 1989
    • BBC One

    A murderer is on the loose at Cambridge, where the family of the late Professor John Faraday is being murdered. His niece's husband Andrew is found in the river with a bullet in his head, then his daughter Julia is poisoned and his son William is attacked. Campion is called in by a friend, and Caroline Faraday, the Professor's widow, retains hin to protect her eccentric children William and Kitty and to find the murderer. Campion finds himself working on the case with Inspector Stanislaus Oates.

  • S01E04 Police at the Funeral (Part 2)

    • February 12, 1989
    • BBC One

    Campion receives a letter from an old Cambridge friend, asking him to help find a missing uncle of his fiancée. Campion is convinced that the murderer is part of the Faraday household.

  • S01E05 The Case of the Late Pig (Part 1)

    • February 19, 1989
    • BBC One

    'Pig' Peters dies and is buried... but then he turns up dead again...

  • S01E06 The Case of the Late Pig (Part 2)

    • February 26, 1989
    • BBC One

    Campion investigates the murder of 'Pig' Peters, whose funeral he attended three months earlier.

  • S01E07 Death of a Ghost (Part 1)

    • March 5, 1989
    • BBC One

    Campion, getting away from it all, visits his friend Belle Lafcadio, a rich art collector. Trouble begins with murder at an exhibition of pictures by a dead artist. First one body turns up, then another... and the identity of one of the departed comes as something of a surprise.

  • S01E08 Death of a Ghost (Part 2)

    • March 12, 1989
    • BBC One

    Campion is convinced that a third murder is imminent. The inquest into the death of Claire Potter reveals that she died from nicotine poisoning.

Season 2

  • S02E01 Sweet Danger (Part 1)

    • January 12, 1990
    • BBC One

    Campion searches for the crown of a lost kingdom. Campion is asked to find documents that will prove that the Frittons are the rightful owners of a tiny Dalmatian state where oil has been discovered.

  • S02E02 Sweet Danger (Part 2)

    • January 19, 1989
    • BBC One

    Campion returns to Pontisbright in disguise in order to track down Savanke.

  • S02E03 Dancers in Mourning (Part 1)

    • February 9, 1990
    • BBC One

    Campion visits the country house of the famous dancer Jimmy Sutane to investigate a string of unpleasant practical jokes, and falls in love. On Campion's first night at White Walls, another guest, Chloe Pye dies - though whether by accident, murder or suicide remains to be seen. Then there are more deaths, and Campion finds himself under pressure.

  • S02E04 Dancers in Mourning (Part 2)

    • February 16, 1990
    • BBC One

    Influenced by his feelings for Linda Sutane, Campion refuses to believe the evidence against her husband Jimmy, and continues trying to clear his name. But when another murder occurs, Sutane's innocence becomes impossible to sustain.

  • S02E05 Flowers for the Judge (Part 1)

    • February 23, 1990
    • BBC One

    Campion is drawn into the family feuds besetting the Golden Quill publishing business. One of the Barnabas family, who own the company, is found dead, leaving Campion's friend, Mike Barnabas, as the chief suspect.

  • S02E06 Flowers for the Judge (Part 2)

    • March 2, 1990
    • BBC One

    Campion is determined to prove the innocence of his friend Mike Barnabas, arrested for the murder of Paul Brande, but in trying to do so he puts his own life in jeopardy.

  • S02E07 Mystery Mile (Part 1)

    • March 9, 1990
    • BBC One

    American Judge Crowdy Lobbett has suffered several attempts on his life and has decided to leave the United States and travel to England in the hope of finding a safe haven. The Lobbett family meet Campion on board their transatlantic liner, and the Judge's son Marlowe asks him to help with their problems. Campion takes the Lobbetts to the village of Mystery Mile, where he has friends, but the Simister gang is on the Judge's trail and he soon disappears, leaving Campion and the Lobbetts with a kidnapping to solve in a hurry.

  • S02E08 Mystery Mile (Part 2)

    • March 16, 1990
    • BBC One

    Judge Lobbett mysteriously disappears, Biddy Pagett is kidnapped and Lugg tries to warn Campion off the Simister mob investigation, but he refuses to give in.