Catherine Cookson's The Man Who Cried

The Man Who Cried was one of many miniseries adaptations of the works of Catherine Cookson which aired on British television in the 1990s. Set during the Depression years, the series starred Ciaran Hinds as unhappily married Abel Mason. Attempting to escape his insufferable wife Lena (Angela Walsh), Abel flees to Yorkshire, where he enters into an illegal matrimonial union with a wealthy widow. The web of deceit becomes even more tangled when Abel falls in love with his new "wife's" sister Florrie (Kate Buffrey). Produced by Tyne Tees Television, the three-part, three-hour The Man Who Cried was originally telecast in 1993.

English français
  • Series ID 174181
  • Status Ended
  • Original Network ITV
  • Networks ITV from January 1993 to January 1993
  • Runtimes 90 minutes (3 episodes)
  • Genres Drama
  • Favorited This series has been favorited by 2 people.




Recent Episodes


Absolute ordering places all episodes in a single ordered season. This is generally used for anime.

Missing Information

TheTVDB is an open database, meaning that if information or images are missing, you're welcome to log in and add the information yourself.

  • This series has no actors.
  • This series has no external ids or links.
  • This series has no panel artwork.
  • This series has no icon artwork.