Home / Series / Small Axe / Aired Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 Mangrove

    • November 15, 2020
    • BBC One

    The true story of the Mangrove restaurant, a lively community hub in London’s Notting Hill that was the subject of relentless police raids during the 1970s and a consequent trial.

  • S01E02 Lovers Rock

    • November 22, 2020
    • BBC One

    A single evening at a house party in 1980s West London sets the scene, developing intertwined relationships against a background of violence, romance and music.

  • S01E03 Red, White and Blue

    • November 29, 2020
    • BBC One

    After seeing his father assaulted by police officers, a young black man is driven to join the force, with hopes of changing racist attitudes from within. He soon finds himself facing both his father's disapproval and racism in the ranks.

  • S01E04 Alex Wheatle

    • December 6, 2020
    • BBC One

    Alex Wheatle spent his childhood in a mostly white institutional care home and jailed after the Brixton uprising of 1981.

  • S01E05 Education

    • December 13, 2020
    • BBC One

    When 12-year-old Kingsley is transferred to a special-needs school, a group of West Indian women uncover an unofficial segregation policy preventing many black children from receiving the education they deserve.