Home / Series / An African Journey with Jonathan Dimbleby / Official Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 Mali

    • May 30, 2010

    After four decades of reporting from the continent, Jonathan Dimbleby returns to Africa on a 7,000-mile journey to discover how it is changing. He starts his African journey in the capital of Mali, Bamako, the fastest-growing African city. Jonathan gets his hands dirty as the apprentice of a 74-year-old mud mason in Djenne, a town built entirely of mud. In Ghana, Jonathan sees a spectacular festival before playing a game of golf with the King of the Ashanti. In Lagos, Nigeria's business capital, Jonathan Dimbleby sees a different take on a city and is taken on a private jet by Africa's richest man

  • S01E02 Ethiopia

    • June 6, 2010

    On the second leg of his illuminating journey across Africa, Jonathan Dimbleby travels 2000 miles through East Africa's Rift Valley. Starting in Ethiopia, where he was the first journalist to report the 1973 famine, Dimbleby discovers the great strides being made to safeguard the country from future catastrophes. In Kenya he finds out how mobile phones are revolutionising small businesses and even the lives of Masai tribes. In Tanzania he joins in a football match with the judges and guards of Africa's own Human Rights Commission and meets the street kids in Dar-es-Salaam who are building an international profile for their music.

  • S01E03 Congo

    • June 13, 2010

    On the final leg of his 7,000 mile odyssey, Jonathan Dimbleby travels from Congo to Durban in search of the stories revealing contemporary Africa. He learns how China's billion dollar deals have rebooted African economies, once dependent on Western aid and investment. Passing through Zambia, Jonathan survives a training session with boxing world champion Esther Phiri and meets Hugh Masekela, who shares with him his view of Africa's emerging revival.