Home / Series / Quacks / Aired Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 The Duke's Tracheotomy

    • August 15, 2017
    • BBC Two

    Robert is a domineering, showman surgeon - a rock star of his age - who is almost as brilliant as he thinks he is. He can pack out an operating theatre and take off a leg in 92 seconds. But after a botched amputation, Robert is put under pressure by the royal physician, Dr Hendrick. So John, a drug-addled dentist who is trying to create the world's first anaesthetic, convinces Robert to use potentially lethal ether in a prestigious and pioneering operation.

  • S01E02 The Lady's Abscess

    • August 22, 2017
    • BBC Two

    Caroline bags an invitation to meet her hero, Charles Dickens. William finds himself in an awkward position when he exaggerates how much of a fan he is - he hasn't read a single page. An excruciating evening ensues when William escorts Caroline to a dinner party at Dickens's house.

  • S01E03 The Madman's Trial

    • August 29, 2017
    • BBC Two

    William stages a mock trial to cure a deluded patient, while Robert looks to advance his reputation by securing the backing of a wealthy female patron.

  • S01E04 The Indian Mesmerist

    • September 5, 2017
    • BBC Two

    Caroline arranges for herself and William to meet a charismatic hypnotist at a local curry house for a demonstration of his powers.

  • S01E05 The Bishop's Appendix

    • September 12, 2017
    • BBC Two

    Robert has a problematic patient – the Bishop of Lambeth needs his appendix removed or he will die. But he won’t agree to pain relief or surgery.

  • S01E06 The Physician's Hernia

    • September 19, 2017
    • BBC Two

    When William’s childhood friend Mina puts pressure on William to marry her, he has a difficult moral decision to make.