Home / Series / Frankie Boyle's Tour of Scotland / Aired Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 Aberdeen to Oban

    • February 7, 2020
    • BBC Two

    Frankie goes from Aberdeen to Oban to discover how Scotland's landscape has shaped the nation, meeting a hermit, joining a commune and going underneath a mountain.

  • S01E02 Edinburgh to Aberdeen

    • February 14, 2020
    • BBC Two

    Frankie travels from Edinburgh to Aberdeen to explore language. He meets a famous crime writer, joins a language lesson in a jail and learns how to be offensive in sign language.

  • S01E03 Glasgow to Ayr

    • February 21, 2020
    • BBC Two

    Frankie heads south, travelling from his hometown of Glasgow to his stand-up show in the west-coast seaside town of Ayr. Along the way, he explores what it feels to 'belong' to a certain community and how those groups define modern Scotland. The last time Frankie himself felt like he belonged in a certain group was when he joined a martial arts club in the east end of Glasgow. Frankie returns to his old club for a training session with his old sensei, Tommy Carruthers. Tommy is an expert in jeet kune do, a martial art created by Bruce Lee. Tommy’s unique technique and popularity have led to some describing him as the man who turned being Glaswegian into a martial art. Frankie gets a workout to find out whether he has retained some of the fighting skills that Tommy taught him.

  • S01E04 Oban to Glasgow

    • February 28, 2020
    • BBC Two

    Frankie travels from Oban to Glasgow. His journey takes him from a submarine base to Bannockburn, before he helps paint a mural in Glasgow and explores the city’s darkest chapter.